How to Delete Photos from iPhone – Bulk Delete All Photos

48 views

Have no idea how to delete photos in bulk from your iPhone? Want to learn how to delete the entire photos from your iPhone with just a single click? This guide includes all the easy methods that you can use to delete photos from your iPhone - either removing photos based on the album, bulk selecting and deleting the photos, or even using Mac to delete all of the photos on the iPhone.

How to Delete Photos from iPhone

With iPhone's camera getting better and better, it's not so hard to get over excited taking way too many photos than what's necessary. You'll quickly end up finding out that the free space in your storage is almost gone. Deleting photos one by one is easy but when you've got hundreds of images to delete, "easy" will soon turn to "tedious". You can do one of the tricks below to help you download multiple photos in one time. Check them out!

#1: How to Bulk Delete Photos from iPhone

  1. Open Photos app.
  2. Navigate to either Photos, Memories, or Shared.
  3. Tap "Select" at the top right corner of the screen.
  4. Start selecting all the photos you want to delete by tapping on them. You can also drag your finger to select multiple nearby photos more quickly. If you want to delete them all, simply tap "Select All"
  5. Tap the Trash icon at the bottom right corner of the screen.
  6. Confirm the deletion.

How to Bulk Delete Photos from iPhone

This method also works great if you want to delete a particular type of photos and videos, such as screenshot, live photo, panorama, time-lapse, slow motion, etc. Note that it only works if you have set up Apple's Smart Folder. If you organize the photos by creating folders manually, the following trick won't work. Either way, check it out!

  1. Open Photos app.
  2. Navigate to Albums. Choose the relevant folder of certain type of photos and videos that you want to delete.
  3. Tap "Select", then "Select All"
  4. Tap the Trash icon at the bottom right corner of the screen.
  5. Confirm the deletion.

All the photos that you delete using this method will not be removed permanently. They are stored in the Recently Deleted folder instead. This means that the photos will still be taking up some space in your iPhone's storage until they pass the 30-days period or you delete them for good. You can do this by heading to Albums > Recently Deleted folder. Select all the photos and tap the Trash icon.

#2: How to Delete Photos from iPhone on Mac

Every Mac has a default program called Image Capture. Often overlooked, this program enables users to quickly identify all the photos from any devices that are connected to the Mac using the sync cable. From there, they can import the photos to the internal storage of their Mac. You can use this program to quickly select all the photos in your iPhone and delete them permanently too. Here's how:

How to Delete Photos from iPhone on Mac

  1. Plug in your iPhone into your Mac with the included sync cable.
  2. Start Image Capture on your Mac.
  3. If this is the first time you connect your iPhone, a pop-up will usually appear, asking you whether you trust the Mac, hence giving it access to your iPhone's photos. Confirm it.
  4. Within seconds, you'll see all the photos from your iPhone listed in Image Capture on your Mac.
  5. Hit Command + A to select them all.
  6. Delete them by clicking the small red icon on the left of "Import to" at the bottom of the screen (it looks like a No Stopping sign).
  7. Confirm the deletion.

Deleting photos from your iPhone using this method will permanently remove them. Therefore, it is a good idea that you back them up first. You can use the import function on the Image Capture program to do it.

If you don't have a Mac, you can replicate the method using a Windows computer. The steps are almost the same. Once connected, you just have to launch Windows Explorer, navigate to your iPhone's DCIM photo folder, select all images (CTRL + A), hit the delete button on your keyboard. Be sure to import them first as all the images will not be stored in the Recycle Bin folder. They will be deleted permanently the second you push the delete button.

How to Delete Photos from iPhone on Windows PC

#3: How to Delete Photos from iPhone but not iCloud

The short answer for this is you can't. All iPhones are connected to their user's respective iCloud account. Every time you take a new photo, it will be synced to your iCloud's storage. Similarly, when you delete a photo, it will also be deleted from iCloud. The only solution for this is by using a third-party cloud service like Google Photos. Google Photos will give you a free cloud storage of 15 GB the first time you sign up. If you need bigger space, you can purchase it later. Here are the steps:

How to Delete Photos from iPhone but not iCloud

  1. Download and install Google Photos on your iPhone.
  2. Backup the photos you wish to delete from your iPhone but keep in the cloud.
  3. Once you confirm that the photo has been backup to Google Photos, you can delete it from your iPhone.
  4. You can download Google Photos on your other devices or go on the web to access the photo once again.

Doing the steps above won't prevent your photos from getting deleted from your iCloud's storage, but at least, they're still in the cloud. You can still access and download them again whenever you want.

Tags: #bulk delete photos from iphone #deleting photos from iphone but not icloud #how to delete all photos from iphone 6 #how to delete photos from iphone on mac

Leave a reply "How to Delete Photos from iPhone – Bulk Delete All Photos"

Author: 
    author